Formal Privacy / Data Breach Complaint Letter

Create this legal Document

Contact us to create this legal document.

Most Popular

Self Service

Create the document instantly yourself by entering the key details.

A$

Self Service

Self Service is not yet available for this document.

Lawyer Assisted

Create the document yourself with 30 mins help from a lawyer.

A$

Lawyer Assisted

Lawyer Assisted is not yet available for this document.

Full Service

We create a bespoke document based on
your instructions.

From:

A$

Please turn your device to landscape mode to begin creating your document.

Please turn your device to landscape mode to begin creating your document.

Thank you! Your message has been received!
Oops! Please check your details and try again.
No items found.

Do you know whether your personal information has been compromised?

Nearly all businesses + NFP's will tell you that they take your privacy + data security seriously.

How many actually do this?

In our experience and from the increasingly large number of reported data breaches/hacking we consider that the reality is far from the promises made.

There is a chance that your personal information has been compromised and you are not even aware this has occurred.

Is the business you are dealing with regulated by the Privacy + Data Breach Notification Legislation?

Unless a small business or NFP "opts-in" to be regulated by Australian Privacy legislation {here is a link to search for small businesses + NFP's who have publicly opted-in), only businesses or NFP's that “trade in” personal information or have an annual turnover of more than $3 million or those businesses dealing with specific sensitive categories of personal information such as healthcare, financial, or Tax File Number data are regulated.

This means that many small businesses or NFP's you deal with are unregulated.

Not all data breaches are equal!

Only Data Breaches which could result in serious harm need to be reported to the OAIC and yourself.

This means that many data breaches are not reported.

Formal complaint

In circumstances where you do become aware of a privacy/data breach you can instruct our law firm to lodge a complaint with the organisation or agency who has mishandled your personal information.

This will increase your chance of obtaining a written apology together with compensation for your non-economic loss and reimbursement for your reasonably incurred expenses (such as your legal costs).

If there is no response within 30 days your complaint can be taken to the Office of the Australian Information Commissioner (OAIC) who has awarded non-economic compensation of between $1 - $20k per breach depending upon the facts of the matter.

Article: Privacy Policies + Australian Law

For more background information about Privacy Policies + Australian Law please click here to read the article by James D. Ford, GAICD of Blue Ocean Law Group℠ in his capacity as iubenda Legal Network Partner in Australia + New Zealand.

Blue Ocean Law Group℠ also collaborates with iubenda to present regular free webinars entitled:

How to make your website/app easily compliant with Australian Law?

Social Sharing Image: Courtesy of Alex Iby on Unsplash

Test your knowledge and get a discount for this document: take the .

Enter the code WHen you pay full price to Purchase one of the following Self Service documents:

No items found.

Re-Enter the code at checkout each time you buy the following documents to get a discount:

No items found.

Resources

What clients say

swipe left or right to view more testimonials
Positive: Professionalism, Quality, Responsiveness, Value. "Best of the best service! James is so kind and really likes to help. Very professional and knowledgeable too!"

Yan Zheng

,

Google

10

Jul 2020

Positive: Responsiveness. "Insightful and adaptive legal service. Exceptional communication and collaborative working style - highly recommended."

Emily Stevens

14

Jun 2020

Positive: Professionalism, Quality, Responsiveness, Value. "The service from James Ford at Blue Ocean Law Group has been excellent. Very reassuring."

John Terry

,

Google

2

Jun 2020

Professional knowledgeable. "The lawyer is really trying to understand the situation and give me the best advice for every possible way to protect my rights. The lawyer also gives advice on things I didn't request initially but definitely need in the future."

Amanda Xu

27

May 2020

Outstanding Service, second to none. "Overall the experience was outstanding. Their attention to detail was great, which is what you want from a law firm. They also went the extra mile by protecting the documents supplied against fraud so we could verify each piece of information."

Robert Ablinger | Co-founder + CTO - TraxPrint

26

May 2020

"I highly recommend James if you require legal advice, especially when time is of the essence. I needed help with a complex matter relating to property purchase, and within an hour of contacting James, I was able to meet him and discuss the issues and have him explain my options with clear references to the applicable law. James continued to work on the matter afterwards and explain my situation and options by the end of the same day. I had not met a lawyer before who was as fast and ready to help as James. It was a great experience to work with him."

Zoltan Toth | Principal Electronics Engineer @ NearMap

16

Oct 2019

"James is an experienced lawyer who I had the pleasure of working with previously. I highly recommend James."

Connor James | Founder of Compliance Quarter [Westpac "Business of Tomorrow" Winner 2018] + Principal Solicitor @ Law Quarter

10

Oct 2019

"James and the team at Blue Ocean have advised us on a number of matters relating to retail leasing and commercial property purchase over the past 12 months. We’ve found his advice extremely valuable throughout, and he has helped us avoid what could have been significant/expensive issues in the future by providing his input and expertise. He’s always quick to respond to any questions or queries and overall the fees are very reasonable. We will continue to use Blue Ocean in the future and can highly recommend to others."

Jade Lillo-Trynes

25

Sep 2019

"Blue Ocean Law Group went the extra mile to deliver by collaborating with a local New Zealand law firm to deliver the Questrade (Canada) VOI – Verification of Identity I needed."

Sam Martin | Supervisor | Assurance + Advisory [Deloitte. N.Z.]

23

Sep 2019

What is a Free Legal Health Check and why is this the best place to start?

What is a Free Legal Health Check? ✅

Our Legal Health Check is a process that helps you identify + prioritise your individual + business (if relevant) legal needs.

How does it work?

1️⃣ Complete our Intelligent Questionnaire:

You will be asked to provide information about your personal and/or business circumstances;

2️⃣ Automated Report:

The process uses inbuilt Embedded Lawyer-Logic™ to help you identify key legal risks + concerns and prioritise solutions.

A customised (jargon-free) report is generated in plain english with actionable recommendations.

3️⃣ Deliver Solutions:

You can then consider the information in your own time, and when convenient, select the most appropriate self-service legal documents from our online 24/7 portal or reach out to our legal team to discuss your options in more detail.

What does it cover?

🧩 Estate planning;

🧩 Marriage and de facto relationships;

🧩 Tax structuring;

🧩 Dispute avoidance/resolution;

🧩 Investment properties;

🧩 Business sale/purchase;

🧩 Business financing;

🧩 Co-ownership arrangements;

🧩 Managing staff;

🧩 Commercial terms;

🧩 Websites and intellectual property;

🧩 Regulatory compliance.

Why go through this process?

This is an amazing way to quickly + proactively identify legal risks + opportunities to get your legal affairs in order!

Achieve Zen-like “peace of mind” knowing your legal affairs are in order

Our Buccaneer Package is designed for individuals + includes our constantly expanding library of [Self-Service] personal legal documents.

It is compelling value with pricing at less than $1 per day which entitles you to access heavily discounted [members only] prices.

You could save thousands $$$ on your legal bills!

Our Yachtsman Package designed for business owners includes our constantly expanding library of [Self-Service] personal + business legal documents.

It is compelling value with pricing at circa $3.50 per day [equivalent to the price of a cup of tea or coffee!] which entitles you to access heavily discounted [members only] prices.

You could save thousands $$$ on your personal + business legal spend!

Credits:

This FAQ was written by James D. Ford GAICD | Principal Solicitor, Blue Ocean Law Group℠.

More than 1000+ Australian Lawyers use Embedded Lawyer-Logic. How does it work?

More than 1000+ Australian lawyers use this industry leading automated legal document generation solution. It uses Embedded Lawyer-Logic™ designed by leading lawyers in their respective fields.

Step 1️⃣: Information Gathering

Our intelligent online questionnaire adapts to your answers and only asks relevant questions.

Simply follow the guidance and enter the requested information about your matter.

Step 2️⃣: Document Assembly

The information is then sent to our back-end legal document generation engine, which follows a matrix of algorithms to make decisions about what should be in your legal document, just as an expert human lawyer would do.

The engine then draws from an enormous body of content to assemble a top-tier quality legal document that’s tailored to your situation + requirements.

Our Embedded Lawyer-Logic™ technology includes numerous quality control checks + automatic error-correction, massively reducing the risk of human error.

Step 3️⃣: Document Delivery

The finished document is then emailed to you in PDF format, ready to print and sign.

Optional: Lawyer Review/Assistance

Your answers to the online questionnaire and a copy of the finished document in both Word + PDF formats are automatically forwarded to our legal team.

If we notice anything out of-the-ordinary we will contact you to discuss.

If you are a subscribed member or opt for paid Lawyer-Assistance, we will use the allocated time to assist to clarify and resolve any questions you may have.

Optional: Full Service

If your matter is complex, high risk or you have never been involved in legal matters before, we highly recommend you opt for our Full Service.

Our legal team will contact you and assist you throughout the entire process.

If you are a subscribed member the cost for the time spent by our legal team to assist you is heavily discounted.

Credits:

This FAQ was written by James D. Ford GAICD | Principal Solicitor, Blue Ocean Law Group℠.

When should I reach out to speak to your legal team?

Our [Self-Service] legal documents are designed to be completed "without the intervention of a lawyer".

This approach will be appropriate for the majority of routine legal matters, where you are experienced and have learnt what needs to be considered and have gained experience in using our 24/7 online document portal to generate your legal documents instantly.

Some routine matters maybe totally new to you (meaning that you will have questions and we recommend you select our [Lawyer-Assisted] service).

Other matters maybe unusually complex, or of such high-value or risk that involving our legal team is the prudent course to take.

For these matters we recommend you select our [Full Service] option.

Credits:

This FAQ was written by James D. Ford GAICD | Principal Solicitor, Blue Ocean Law Group℠.

Is the Legal Documents Portal Secure? Does it use encryption to protect my personal information?

Our website + back-end system use the best possible web-based security available.

It was once said:

It would take the combined processing power of every computer in the world thousands of years to crack 4096-bit encryption.

In a more general context (outside of encrypted secure website traffic/data) it has also been said:

Data with 4096-bit encryption (only protected by a password) could still be compromised within seconds.
How? Human error.
Easy pass-phrase, written down password, re-used password... etc. basically, always be on the lookout for the weakest link.
Trust the technology, but never trust the weak link - the user!

Credits:

This FAQ was written by James D. Ford GAICD | Principal Solicitor, Blue Ocean Law Group℠.

What extras does an upgrade to Lawyer-Assisted Service include?

Your upgrade to our [Lawyer-Assisted] Service includes …

⚖️ Professional Indemnity (Limited Liability) by a scheme approved under Professional Standards Legislation;

✅ Allocated Time included to understand your circumstances + objectives, answer your queries + provide legal advice & make recommendations regarding alternative/additional options; and

✅ Create your standardised Legal Document based on your instructions.

Plus [+] Where Appropriate (at no additional charge)

⚖️ Use of proprietary fonts to maximise fraud prevention;

⚖️ Use of our Law Firm Letterhead;

➲  Send your Legal Document for electronic signature/s using AdobeSign; and/or

🔒 Application of TraxPrint Fraud + Litigation Prevention Technology.

Credits:

This FAQ was written by James D. Ford GAICD | Principal Solicitor, Blue Ocean Law Group℠.

How do I attempt to settle my civil dispute whilst protecting myself from the other side using what I say against me?

You have the right to remain silent … in your civil legal dispute

By the time you approach a lawyer to assist with your civil legal dispute you may have already discussed the matter in detail or sent text messages/emails to the other party, their agent, insurance company or lawyers.

Whilst you might think you are progressing the matter:

➲ This is generally a mistake!

Most people [unless they are experienced in litigation or legal dispute resolution] will unknowingly proceed to make these communications with the other side on an "open” basis.

This means that everything that is said or written might be capable of being used by the other parties in any subsequent legal proceedings.

We recommend you don't say or write anything until you have spoken to your lawyer

It is generally known that in any criminal matter, you have the “right to remain silent …” as this is well-covered territory on TV/Movie Legal Dramas and in the media.

When it comes to civil disputes we recommend you adopt the same position.

Our advice may be spot on when it comes to large $$ civil disputes.

Proceeding without your lawyer

When the matter is only a minor one, you may not want to go to the time and/or expense of engaging legal advice specific to your situation.

Q: How then can you proceed?

A: Very carefully, and with the assistance of some very specific legal phraseology which you may or may not have seen before.

Please refer to our blog article “How to cast a magic legal spell? The protection afforded by Without Prejudice Settlement Negotiations." for more information.

Credits:

This FAQ was written by James D. Ford GAICD | Principal Solicitor, Blue Ocean Law Group℠.

Important Notice:

This FAQ is intended for general interest + information only.

It is not legal advice, nor should it be relied upon or used as such.

We recommend you always consult a lawyer for legal advice specifically tailored to your needs & circumstances.

Is it possible to obtain insurance against loss at trial in Australia?

AUSTRALIANS CAN NOW INSURE THEMSELVES AGAINST LOSS AT TRIAL

Australian claimants looking to protect themselves against a loss at trial can now insure themselves locally instead of sourcing cover from overseas

Aon has placed the first Australian “After the Event” (ATE) policy through underwriter Ironshore Australia Pty Ltd.

ATE insurance protects claimants, whether a client or a law firm, by partially deferring payment of the premium, and payment is contingent on the success of the claim.

Eden Fletcher, National Financial Lines Placement Manager, Aon Risk Solutions Australia said this was a significant step for the Australian legal system.

“ATE insurance has been established in the UK for some time and Australian clients have been able to access the cover by going abroad. However, the overseas policies are not made with the Australian market and legislative system in mind. By being able to now access the product here, it will give clients comfort the product is fit for purpose, and is commissioned by local lawyers,” he said.
“Australia has become the most likely jurisdiction outside of the USA in which a corporation will face significant class action litigation. The risks and costs of fighting these cases are high, most are settled before they reach the courts. With a local solution now available, this provides solicitors with an opportunity to take on more cases as their client’s representative, given the client will have the protection of this insurance,” Mr Fletcher said.

The intention of this policy is not to encourage litigation, since premiums provide an incentive to settle early rather than progress deeper into trial, with the rate varying according to the stage at which the litigation is settled.

“We believe ATE insurance will be eagerly explored by law firms acting for the claimant, as it will make a higher percentage of potential class actions even more viable than present, subject to the merits of the case. When there is ATE insurance behind the case, it validates the case has a reasonable chance of success given Ironshore’s due diligence and underwriting methodology,” Mr Fletcher said.

To find out more about ATE litigation insurance:

➲ Contact Us.

Credits:

This FAQ was written by James D. Ford GAICD | Principal Solicitor, Blue Ocean Law Group℠.

What are the Australian Privacy Principles (APP's)?

Click here to download ...

Source: Office of the Australian Information Commissioner (OAIC) website